Joanne´s profile

Reviews (1)


Birlea Lynx Wardrobe Quality Issues

I ordered a Birlea Lynx wardrobe and chest of drawers via Bed SOS for delivery during a week when I was on leave from work. The products arrived on time although the driver (TNT) seemed miffed that no one was available to help him carry them in. When I opened and inspected the packages later I noted that one piece of the wardrobe was broken - the top corner was completely snapped off. I rang Bed SOS and Danny was really helpful and sent a new piece which was delivered two days later (luckily my mother was at home at could take the delivery for me). However, when I came to build it that after the replacement piece had arrived I realised that there were ten pieces missing, and that I had several surplus bits. Again, Danny arranged for new parts to be sent, but this time TNT were useless and took 3 days to deliver (that's 3 days of not being able to leave the house). However, I got these pieces home and found that two of them were broken. My dad tried to fix them so I could at least build something, but we then discovered that one of the main side panels had the holes for the shelf and hinges drilled in the wrong place - 2 inches too low, and another piece was about 2 inches too tall and stuck out at the top so the top piece wouldn't fit on. I have to say though, BedSOS did give me refund for the wardrobe eventually, but the quality of the Birlea furniture is poor - either that or they seriously need to review their packaging and shipping procedures. Not BedSOS's fault, as they are only the retailer but can't help thinking they should be more careful what they sell as it reflects badly on them. Birlea chest of drawers was fine btw, arrived correclty and not damaged, built easily and is fair for the price - have to say though, Birlea's instructions for building not as clear as other well known flat packed furniture manufacturers.

15 April 2013

Reply from

Hi Joanne,

Thanks for your review and sorry to hear about your experience with this order.

I understand when you received the Lynx wardrobe there was parts missing. As the wardrobe arrived flatpacked and sealed this missing parts must have been missed out at manufacturing. With regards to the damages in transit we do apologise about this and no matter which courier's we use or any courier use there will always be some deliveries that get damaged which we do apologise about as this reflects our company.

As you mentioned you were frustrated with this order and we have now issued a full refund for this wardrobe.


Joanne´s profile

profile image of Joanne
United Kingdom