Michelle Gerrard´s profile

Reviews (2)

Diamond Heaven

Cheap in every sense of the word

I ordered a black & white diamond half eternity ring for my partner as her engagement ring for our upcoming wedding. The ring arrived in the agreed timescale, however on close inspection we noticed many of the diamonds were dull / discoloured. I promptly returned the ring for Diamond Heaven to send me out a replacement a few weeks later.

This time the diamonds were nice and sparkly, however the finish of the metal made the entire ring look cheap and plastic. It felt lighter than it should then we noticed the inside of the ring was hollowed out as opposed to a solid band of metal. The hollows made the inside edges of the ring sharp and uncomfortable to wear.

I asked Diamond Heaven why the ring was of such poor quality and likened if to a costume piece from Claire's Accessories! The sales assistant agreed the finish did cheapen the piece and offered to smooth off the sharp edges - I had been rather hoping for them to offer to finish the ring off properly considering I had paid £1,000 for it.

Needless to say the ring was returned for a second time for a full refund. I had to chase for my postage costs to be reimbursed, and also had a tedious time cancelling the finance plan provided via Barclays. I am now waiting for the finance payments to be refunded also so I can draw a line under the whole disappointing experience.

07 September 2013

Reply from Diamond Heaven

Hi Michelle,

Thank you for leaving your feedback.

Were sorry to hear you were not happy with the ring purchased from us.

In regards to the finance with Barclays, this was cancelled at our end straight away, the lady who was dealing with it for you also spoke to them to ask why they had carried on taking payments. Unfortunately there is a limit to what they will tell us but we were assured they would rectify this for you.

With the ring you selected the setting is open at the back to allow for ease of cleaning, however you're right this should not be sharp at all. This should have been caught before it was sent out to you, we have a strict quality checking process to check all of our items before they're dispatched so we are sad to hear about the issues you've had with your ring. This will be looked into.

In regards to the sales assistant offering to smooth the edges, this would have been her trying to get this corrected for you quickly rather than having to wait longer for us to re-make the ring. The process would have been to buff the inside of the rings to smooth it out, this would then have gone for re-polishing to finish the ring off.

We have taken your comments on board and once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We hope to hear from you again in the future so we can make it up to you.

Kind Regards,

Diamond Heaven


Unfair postage caps for sellers

I use ebay a lot and generally enjoy buying and selling with them. I do however take issue with the limits they put on sellers postage costs - some of the price thresholds do not cover the delivery offered e.g. recorded delivery of an item at a certain size / weight and therefore mean that the additional p&p eats into the sale price of the item. I raised this issue with ebay directly sometime ago, only to be told to raise my starting price to compensate - no coincidence that means my listing fee goes up and the overall increased sale price means more money to ebay!

Paul Betfair Trader found this review useful

Michelle Gerrard´s profile

profile image of Michelle Gerrard
Michelle Gerrard
Female, 1982
Euxton, United Kingdom