Terry Booth´s profile

Reviews (1)

Specialised Covers

I wish I had never bought it !!!

I took the caravan cover off after its first winter to find horror of horrors that there was a green dusty mould on all the top cupboards. I phoned Specialised Covers and after stating the problem to two people was then passed to a Technical person. He was not interested in what I had to say other than to tell me how good this product was and they had allegedly never come across the problem before. As far as I was concerned I wanted to return it for a refund as it failed to perform as promised and consequently is not fit for purpose. I was told they do not have a Returns Policy- Be warned !!! I was on the telephone for 35 minutes and was given no help what-so-ever. I consider he was overbearing , rude and unhelpful and I would never recommend this item to anyone!!!

29 April 2013

Reply from Specialised Covers Ltd

Dear Mr. Booth,

We are very sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your Caravan and also your experience with dealing with ourselves.

However, we would like to stipulate again we strongly believe that our tailored caravan cover product is not at fault in this instance and that it is 'fit for purpose'. From your description of the problem you have found, the simple fact that there is moisture and subsequent mould damage to the interior of the caravan along the top of your cupboards means there is clearly an issue with the structural integrity of the caravan - be it a hole that has formed or a break in a seal. If this was not the case then there would be no way for moisture to enter the caravan's interior.

The caravan cover is designed to protect a caravan from excessive and dirty rainwater, as well as from the harmful effects from tree sap, acidic bird droppings, frost and detrimental UV damage from the Sun. The caravan cover will always experience 'morning dew' underneath the cover, especially during the winter months. This moisture will eventually evaporate and 'breathe' through the cover throughout the day. Whether you had a cover on or not, it is our view your problem will have taken hold regardless. If anything, the cover could have potentially reduced the effects by preventing excess rainwater from seeping into the caravan and suffering subsequent frost damage.

As there was no damage or signs of mould on the cover itself, we believe the cover is completely satisfactory and fit for purpose. As each cover is manufactured and tailor made just for you, we do not have a returns policy whereby a cover can be returned unless the cover is flawed. If we accept the cover is not fit for purpose then we will offer to either remedy the problem or offer a refund.

If you would like to discuss this matter further we would be more than happy to help you in whatever way we can.

Kind regards,
Specialised Covers.

Terry Booth´s profile

profile image of Terry Booth
Terry Booth
United Kingdom