Mr. Adam Gottlieb´s profile

Reviews (2)

Samsung EU46F8000 Smart TV bought through Ebuyer... But model from Hungary!!

Having recently bought an 8 series tv from Ebuyer through groupon, I was concerened when it arrived and the warranty card was not in English.
I contacted Samsung customer support and they asked me to read them the product code which ended 'XXH'.
They informed me that this meant it was made in Hungary and as such the warranty was invalid in this country meaning it has no protection whatsoever.
Furthermore, TV's from Hungary use different tuners so the built in freeview channels will be all over the place and some of the smart tv apps and features may also be affected.
Ebuyer state on their website that they are a UK base company and there is no mention whatsoever of the fact that they sell non UK products.
Furthermore, the code listed for the TV on their website does not include the final part which indicates it is from Hungary.
Very upset as the tuner on this tv and the warranty are clearly not fit for purpose in the UK.
Samsung have told me to seek legal advice from the Citizens Advice Bureau so I will be doing this as well as contacting ebuyer direct on Monday.
Obviously only a UK replacement will be acceptable otherwise I would expect a full refund and free collection.
Be wary when buying similar products from Ebuyer as they will not tell you beforehand of these issues.

Jay Bennett found this review useful

05 August 2013

Reply from Ebuyer (UK) Ltd.

I am sorry to hear Samsung are unable to provide warranty on your item and that they have advised you may have trouble with the tuning of your television.

I can advise we have not had any cases so far of these problems and if anything goes wrong with your item, you do still have warranty with Ebuyer for 12 months.

You have advised you are contacting Ebuyer today so I hope you have now received advice from our Ebuyer Customer Support. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any further queries.

Kind Regards


Ebuyer Resolution Team


Non-existent customer service & slow delivery

The prices for hay fever tablets are extremely good. However, it seems impossible to contact them if you have a question. I found several reputable voucher and cashback sites listing a code which would give you 10% off all products before 1st May. However, when I tried to use these codes on the Chemist 4 U website, they failed to work. I tried in vein to find a contact number for chemist 4 U but one does not seem to exist so I emailed them instead to enquire as to why the promotional codes were not working. 2 weeks later and I am yet to receive a reply. Having given up on ever receiving a reply, I placed an order 4 days ago without the 10% discount code and have only just received an email saying it has been sent to the warehouse for dispatch. This email states it will be sent in 1-2 working days and could take a further 3-5 working days for delivery. This would result in a possible 2 week wait from the date of order to receiving my goods. All together a very slow delivery service and extremely poor, verging on non existent customer service. Because of this I am unlikely to use Chemist 4 U again or recommend them to anyone.

07 May 2013

Reply from Innox Trading Ltd

Hi Adam, I must apologise on behalf of our customer service team. I have just spoken to Simon who is one of our staff members there, and he is going to contact you via the number you have on your account to see if he can remedy any problem you have been having. Because we were closed over the bank holiday weekend there has been a delay in picking up orders but I assure you that you will recieve your order either tomorrow or the next day. Please accept my apologies and Simon will be in touch shortly.

Many Thanks,
James (Pharmacist)

Mr. Adam Gottlieb´s profile

profile image of Mr. Adam Gottlieb
Mr. Adam Gottlieb
United States