Fatma Hussein´s profile

Reviews (2)



I bought 2 lights worth over £500, and after installing the first light, we woke up in horror the next morning as fire alarm went off, and the source was the light, when I contacted the castlegate lights, the discussion over the phone was not fruitful and they basically did not believe me as I have not taken any video or pictures recording to what happened, also, the man over the phone was mocking me and said to me that are you going to live on candle lights if you are not having ceilling lights???!!!any how they asked me to return the lights to conduct safety checks and they sent me email after a week to say that. They could not find any fault with the light and that if I want to refund it they still will charge 35% of the price which is a lot of money.
It is my first and last time dealing with castlegate lights, the service is disgusting, the communication is awful.
I would not recommend them to any, and I will stick to BHS light which my house is full of them.

15 August 2013

Reply from castlegatelights.co.uk

Thank you for taking the time to review via Trustpilot. The 2 light fittings you purchased from us are from reputable suppliers and are equally popular fittings of which we have sold many of both. The particular light fitting you claimed was smoking we agreed to have collected and tested. On receipt of the fitting we did an initial inspection before sending it back to the supplier for a full electrical test. The light fitting showed absolutely no sign of smoke or heat damage. The fitting would have been marked and shown signs of damage had the problem in your home been the fittings itself.
The light fitting was then sent back to our supplier for a full electrical test which came back clear. See report from our supplier below, which has been discussed with you.

Dear Colin
Further to the return of the Il50381 I am sorry to say there is no evidence of any electrical fault with this item and definitely not evidence of smoking.
Our conclusion is based upon
1) A 72hr continuous burn test with no evidence of failing, over heating or smoking.
2) A 24hr test consisting of power to the fitting but not being switched on and again no evidence of smoke or electrical fault was found.
3) A smell test before and after the tests above resulted in no smell being detected of burning or smoke
4) A visual test before and after the tests above resulted in no evidence of any wires becoming black or and other material melting or burning, photos attached
5) A physical test on the strength of all connectors resulting in no wires being loose or disconnected.
As the item has clearly been installed and has no fault it can only be accepted back with a 35% handling charge or can be returned to you with your next order

Best Regards

Anil Anand (Director)

As the light fitting was without fault, therefore the cause of your distress must have come from elsewhere. As you stated you didn't wish to keep either of the light fittings, and as there was no fault with either fitting, it is simply a return which the cost of this return is paid for by you, the customer. The particular light fitting which was fully tested our supplier agreed to take back into stock, even though it was proved to be working correctly without issue and had been fitted and used, but there re-stocking charge is 35% which is a charge our supplier has made and not ourselves.
A lot of time and effort has been put in by ourselves and the relevant supplier to ensure this fitting is correct. At no point have we taken any profit from this return, we are simply passing on the costs of our courier collection and the costs our supplier is charging for their time and re-stocking charge.
At every stage, even from your first contact we were very clear about what costs could be involved should the fitting come out clear from the testing process.
Once tested you had the option of the lights being returned to you, but as you refused that option, our suppliers charged the re-stocking fee.
Our communication to you has been well documented, open and clear. Our service level to you has been to our usual high standard. Unfortunately the decisions you have made along the journey have resulted in the costs you have incurred.


Excellent in everything

It is my first time using the beanbag bazaar and I am sure it is just the start, I can't fault anything, from the professional communication to the speedy delivery and the quality of the products has just exceeded my imagination.
Thank you beanbag bazaar.

Fatma Hussein´s profile

profile image of Fatma Hussein
Fatma Hussein
United Kingdom