Russ Knjazev´s profile

Reviews (1)


Very bad customer experience + mis-selling holidays to customers

We booked out 5 year anniversary holiday to Mexico in June 2013. We paid about £ 1,400 each for the holiday which was all inclusive and 4* hotel (Catalonia Riviera Maya). We booked the holiday through the travel agents who thoroughly recommended the place as they have just sent their friends there for the honeymoon and they loved it. So we thought it would be a good idea to go ahead with their suggestion, even though we had another hotel in mind that we have chosen.

When we got there we were put on the ground floor room right by the main swimming pool with a stinky air conditioning which didn't even work properly and no fridge to keep your water cool for the night. Straight away i asked to be transferred to a better room after paying such price. They offered to upgrade to a Premium class for an extra £ 200 each and we would get a fridge and other benefits. I refused after paying the original value of over a thousand pounds and being told that these things will be in the package when we booked the holiday.

The hotel was only able to transfer us to a different room with a small fridge with 1 bottle of water and a note saying if you want anymore water you have to buy it???

The second room was no better and because after travelling for over 14 hours we decided to put our head down and just get on with it. However i am sorry the air con didnt work properly it just wasnt cool enough, and the bed was awful with a cheap mattress that you can buy for £20 and a foam contraption on top held with ellastic band. I am sorry but this is not acceptable. The list can go on and on but i just dont cannot be bothered typing it all as you can get the image of what it was like.

We mentioned it to the rep there who couldnt do anything, but we thought we would raise it here once we are back in the UK. After waiting for a month to get a reply from Thompson saying that their CST (customer service tracker) does not indicate there were issue there so as a good will gesture they can only offer £100 voucher. This is ludicrous as i supplied pictures of everything that we had in the room and that still wasn't good enough. I will never use Thomson again, this was our first and last experience with them and I am taking this further as i don't believe £100 will compensate for the over priced holiday.

Russ Knjazev´s profile

profile image of Russ Knjazev
Russ Knjazev
Great Meols, United Kingdom