Desert Orchid´s profile

Reviews (3)


In my opinion, fraudulent.

This is about Thomsons flights only, rather than First Choice (but it's the same company). If you buy a transfer they don't drop you off anywhere near your hotel. Pointless. They claim it says so on the website but I never saw it anywhere when I was booking (otherwise I'd have used one of the many local transfer services that do drop you off right outside your hotel). Their customer service people are unwilling to help - they just say rules are rules. Tried to take it to arbitration but ABTA said it would cost me more to claim than I'd be likely to get back. Bad, bad experience. Last resort for me in future but I'll never buy a transfer again or any other optional extra just so they get as little of my custom as suits me.


Treated like cattle.

Cabin crew abrupt with several passengers (not me - I wouldn't say boo to a goose). In-flight snacks/drinks prices are extortionate. Add-ons when booking are a rip-off. I only ever travel with them if they work out significantly cheaper than the alternatives. I'd rather pay a wee bit more to be treated a bit more like a customer and not a means to an end (profit).

Hispek Electronics


Bluray player is fine. Only disappointment was that the item was not brand new but ex-display, which I maintain was not mentioned at the time I ordered it, only when someone called me to tell me it wouldn't arrive in manufacturer's packaging.

21 April 2011

Reply from Strangewood Ltd

Dear Maurice O'Neill,

Thank you for your comments. I agree it should have been on the website when you purchased and also on your confirmation email. The item was offered at discounted price due to the item being repackaged.
We did call you to inform you of the condition of the appliance before the goods were sent to give you the option to continue with the order or to select the option of a full refund.
Your feedback will help us to improve the service we offer our valued customers. At Hi-Spek Electronics we strive to maintain a high level of customer service. We are sorry that we have failed on this occasion to meet your expectations. team

Desert Orchid´s profile

profile image of Desert Orchid
Desert Orchid
United Kingdom


I'm a 50-something teacher who doesn't like being taken for a fool. I appreciate genuine customer service and consideration and enjoy giving praise where praise is due.