Bela Bel´s profile

Reviews (1)

Not pleased

I called Aspect to install a gas fire for me. I had no idea what other things I would need complete the job. I spoke to a sales agent when booking and was not told about the problems arising when changing an old gas fire to a new one. An engineer came out and spent 15 minutes looking through the instructions and then declared he couldn't do the job as I didn't have a hearth. I had no idea what a hearth was but this hearth could have been easily put in after the fire installation.

I was left with some advice saying get a hearth installed and I'll come back. I paid £102 for a 20 minute consultation and if they couldn't complete a job for something I should have been told about then it is a rip off. A minimum of one hour call out charge should be illegal.

Rubbish service, rubbish people, as usual just looking to rip off vulnerable people. VULTURES!

Germain Gulevicand Saeed Saadat found this review useful

24 October 2013

Reply from

Dear Bela Bel,
This is Will Davies, Managing Director of
I'm sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not receive the expert service that pride ourselves on. We have looked into this issue at our call centre and listened to the recording of your call.
Our call operative did ask whether you had all the materials required for the job, and took your positive response to mean you already had a hearth installed. Clearly this is the result of a breakdown in communication which we can only apologise for. Unfortunately, the engineer was left with no choice but to recommend installing a hearth, as the law requires one for a fire. The minimum one hour charge is in fact an industry standard policy used to protect the engineers' valuable time.
If you wish to discuss this further or decide to go ahead with the work please do get in touch at

Bela Bel´s profile

profile image of Bela Bel
Bela Bel
London, United Kingdom