Robert Thorneycroft´s profile

Reviews (8)

WAE+

Failed to deliver

I placed an order for a Samsung 512GB 840 Pro SSD on 18th June. At the time of ordering the SSD was shown as in stock however my order went into awaiting fulfilment.

On the 1st July I phone to ask where my order had got to and was told they were having problems getting the SSD from the European depot and it would be another 5-7 working days before delivery. Having waited that long I decided I could not be bothered with getting a refund and would wait.

Today working 7 days later there is still no delivery so I phoned again and spoke to the same girl on the support desk who informed me there were still issues and now there would be a further 10-14 working day delay for my drive.

I have to say I am thoroughly dissatisfied with this service (This is no reflection on the help desk who have been very polite throughout.) as during the entire process the drive has been listed as In Stock and available for standard delivery. At no point other than when I have contacted WAE+ has there been any correspondence to say my order was being delayed and for what reason. I have now cancelled my order and very much doubt I will be ordering from WAE+ again.

Customer found this review useful

LambdaTek

Great service and prices

A great company to buy from, their high marks on this site are well deserved as my order couldn't have gone any better. They managed to provide my storage array at very competitive prices and the order was delivered on schedule with no unforeseen issues.

I wouldn't hesitate to use LandaTek again, top marks!

DPD UK

The way all delivery companies should work. Top marks!

I've finally found a company that gets how home deliveries should work!

Three separate deliveries from this company in the last few weeks and all three of them have turned up right on time in the one HOUR slot which was promised on the text message and to top it all the drivers have all be very polite and friendly!

I also like the text message the day before the first delivery is due to confirm delivery can be made on the original date or if that is not available if the parcel should be left with a neighbour or be delivered one or two days later.

02 May 2013

Reply from DPD UK

Hey Robert,

Thanks very much for your kind review :)

It's great to hear that you like our Predict service, and it's always pleasing to hear that our drivers have made such a good impression while on their route.

Get in touch if you ever have any queries - socialmedia@dpd.co.uk

Kind regards,

Bobby.

Ajcontracts

Made my life a living hell

I put through an insurance claim after my cold water tank leaked in the loft and caused considerable damage upstairs. The insurance company sent through AJ Contracts to do the work re-plastering the ceiling and I was very happy with the work done. After they completed the insurance work I hired AJ Contracts to do a large amount of renovation work on my house, thinking that they were reliable after the first work they did.

Unfortunately it appears this company has one standard of work for insurance work and another entirely for private work. The work which included replastering the rest of the house, replacing all of the radiators in the house and the whole kitchen was worth thousands of pounds however you would have thought I had asked them to do it for charity. At the time I was working away during the week and so I had given AJ Contracts a set of keys, unfortunately it appears they cannot work unsupervised as every week when I got back on Friday I was lucky if anyone had done anything at all.

Eventually after several months I got hold of the bosses of the company who agreed to come around in the weekend and talk through the problems. I explained I had been without a kitchen for over 4 months which meant the entire downstairs of my property was unusable as it was being used to store the contents of the kitchen and it was also costing me a fortune eating out as I had no way of cooking anything. They finally agreed that they would get the rest of the work finished by the end of next week having first commented on how fat I was looking having been living on take out for 4 months.

The next Friday I got home to find out that all the time I had spent going through everything the weekend before had been a complete waste of time, the only two things that had happened during that week were that they had painted the kitchen ceiling, spraying paint over all the new units and they had also removed all of my radiators leaving me without any heating in mid winter! At this point I contacted them to kindly request they never darken my doorstep again, to which they never replied or returned my keys leaving me with another expense of changing all the locks.

I would not use AJ Contracts again even if they were paying me to do the work. They effectively wrecked my house and charged me thousands of pounds for the privilege!

PC Specialist Ltd

Excellent Price, Service and Product

I ordered a PC Specialist Vortex II 17" Clevo gaming laptop earlier this year having just been through hell for the last three years with Kobalt ,another company who supply Clevo laptops. So it was with some trepidation that I went with another 'small' supplier rather than just going for one of the big name manufacturers such as Alienware.

I have to say PCSpecialist have completely renewed my faith in smaller suppliers; during the ordering I had a couple of questions which were answered accurately by phone with very short waiting times, the order was then placed on Wednesday and I was using it on Friday! All this at a price which was very competitive with all the other Clevo suppliers, all in all I would say top notch.

Kobaltcomputers

Great Product But Very Poor Service

I owned a Kobalt 17" gaming laptop for almost three years. My initial impression of Kobalt as a company was good, my laptop (Which was very well built and excellent spec) was delivered within a couple of weeks of ordering more or less in-line with the estimate, however unfortunately over time Kobalt's service has slipped to very low levels.

During the time I owned the laptop I had one hard disk failure and two graphics card failures. My problems started when the first graphics card failed and I attempted to contact the company to get it replaced under warranty, it literally took me three weeks to get through to the company. When I finally got through they informed me there had been a lot of sickness and a problem with their phone systems, they did however replace the graphics card and apart from losing a months use of my laptop everything was OK.

Unfortunately about a year after this my hard drive failed, again it took me weeks to get through. The reason I was given this time was again sickness and problems with the phones and yet again I lost the best part of a months use of my laptop before I managed to get the part replaced.

The final straw came when the replacement graphics card failed again earlier this year. Yet again I could not get through to Kobalt, this time I looked on their forums and again they were making posts about sickness and surprise surprise problems with the phone system. After a few weeks of trying to get in contact with Kobalt I eventually gave up and bought another gaming laptop from PCSpecialist which was delivered within 3 days of ordering!

Thlsolutions

Excellent Service Quality and Price

I found THL Solutions whilst searching the internet for replacement tubes for JCC light fittings. I was slightly dubious at first as their price was amazing compared to the other on-line vendors and I was unable to find any feedback for THL Solutions on-line at the time.

As the order value wasn't too high I decided to take a chance and give them a go. I have to say this was an excellent choice! The order was processed almost immediately and the goods turned up the next day very securely packaged in perfect condition. I was thoroughly impressed with the service and quality of the delivery and look forward to using THL again in the future.

Printerland.co.uk

Perfect

I was looking to order a Canon All in One 8250 printer and two additional sets of consumables for a good price and my on-line search directed me to Printerland and a couple of other companies who's prices were all very competitive. The reason I chose Printerland having never used them before was due to the excellent feedback the company had already received from many satisfied customers. I received excellent pre and post sales support both by phone and email with my questions being answered by very friendly staff.

When I placed my order it was then dispatched and delivered next day as promised. My only minor gripe would be with the delivery; Citylink, the delivery company, cannot provide any better indication of time of delivery than 07:30 - 17:30 which makes it mildly inconvenient having to ait in all day until the delivery arrives (16:00 in my case). Having said that all of the products arrived in immaculate condition.

In summary, excellent price, excellent service and fast delivery I will definitely be using this company again for all future printing products.

Rebekah Reynolds found this review useful

Robert Thorneycroft´s profile

profile image of Robert Thorneycroft
Robert Thorneycroft
Reviewer
Male, 1971
Rochester, United Kingdom

About

I'm a computer consultant from Rochester, Kent. I love my gadgets and anything with flashing lights!